UA-123147610-1 Abstract painter | Crann Piorr'Art

Interview of an artist

Crann Piorr'Art artistic background

RankArt: Can you introduce yourself to our readers in a few words?

Gilles Crann Piorra: My artist name is Gilles Crann Piorra and I'm French and Irish, hence my Irish Gaelic artist name. Crann Piorra literally means pear tree and since my name is Poirier, it is natural that I adopted this name. Otherwise, I am a human like the others, who hates conventions and habits and who constantly likes to discover something new.

 

RankArt: Do you practice painting for your hobby or as a professional?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I practice painting since 1989 but I have not been professional since 2018.

 

RankArt: What was the professional and / or artistic career that made you as an artist?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I started painting in 1989 when I went to painting classes at an art school in Dendermonde, Belgium while living in Ghent. In 1991 after my move to Paris, I enrolled in the Fine Arts Workshops of the city of Paris where I attended painting workshops in free expression. As a result, I acquired my technique by painting and experimenting.

 

RankArt: Why did you choose painting as a way of expression rather than another? What was the trigger ?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I always liked drawing but after trying unsuccessfully to play music, I enrolled, a little attracted all the same, to a painting class and there, it was immediately the click. I realized that it was going to become a passion.

 

RankArt: Do your life and its stages influence your art and in what way?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I am necessarily influenced by my past experiences and especially by this education of my parents, both teachers who wanted me to follow the norm and the order of things. What in contrast, I hurried to flee. My travels around the world have influenced me a lot in choosing my colors and my curiosity has done the rest.

 

RankArt: How would you define your artistic work? What do you say about your works to someone who has never seen one of your works?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I am an abstract painter and I define myself as a colorist above all because my choice of colors is paramount. I like contrasting warm and bright colors with shades of blues more or less dark. I never use black alone but only to darken a color.

 

RankArt: Why these choices of subject, technique, style?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I paint mainly oil because I like to paint in the fat and can rework this medium. The acrylic dries too fast and does not have this texture of the oil. I use almost no additives other than oil and asphalt. I like to paint the abstract because it leaves more imaginative freedom. With the abstract we really express what comes from within, we are not limited to what we see, the limit is the imagination, nothing else.

 

RankArt: What in general influences your painting (painter, cinema, music, author ...)?

Gilles Crann Piorra: I am very influenced by the music which is an essential element of my artistic creation. I paint with music that I listen to randomly and very loudly. I am also influenced by the other painters of Bruegel and Van Eyck to contemporary painters whether they are known or not.

Crann Piorr'Art artistic background

© Copyright - Artist: Gilles Crann Piorra.          Crann Piorr'Art ® is a trade mark

Site created with Wix

  • Facebook Social Icône

UA-123147610-1 Artiste peintre abstrait | Interview | Crann Piorr'Art

Crann Piorr'Art interview

L'interview RankArt

RankArt : Pouvez-vous vous présenter en quelques mots à nos lecteurs ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : Mon nom d’artiste est Gilles Crann Piorra et je suis français et irlandais, d’où mon nom d’artiste d’origine gaëlique irlandais. Crann Piorra veut dire littéralement l’arbre à poire et comme mon nom civil est Poirier, c’est naturellement que j’ai adopté ce nom. Autrement, je suis un humain comme les autres, qui déteste les conventions et les habitudes et qui aime constamment découvrir quelque chose de nouveau.

 

RankArt : Pratiquez vous la peinture pour votre loisir ou en tant que professionnel ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : Je pratique la peinture depuis 1989 mais je ne suis passé professionnel que depuis 2018.

 

RankArt : Quel a été le parcours professionnel et/ou artistique qui vous a forgé en tant qu’artiste ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : J’ai commencé la peinture en 1989 en me rendant à des cours de peinture à une école d’arts à Dendermonde en Belgique alors que j’habitait à Gand. En 1991 après mon déménagement à Paris, je me suis inscrit aux Ateliers des Beaux-Arts de la ville de Paris ou j’ai suivi des ateliers de peinture en expression libre. À la suite de cela, j’ai acquis ma technique à force de peindre et d’expérimenter.

 

RankArt : Pourquoi avoir choisi la peinture comme mode d’expression plutôt qu’un autre ? Quel a été le déclic ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : J’ai toujours aimé dessiner mais après avoir essayé infructueusement de jouer de la musique, je me suis inscrit, un peu attiré tout de même, à un cours de peinture et là, cela a été tout de suite le déclic. Je me suis rendu compte que ça allait devenir une passion.

 

RankArt : Votre vie et ses étapes influencent-t-elles votre art et de quelle manière ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : Je suis forcément influencé par mes expériences passées et en particulier par cette éducation de mes parents tous les deux enseignants qui voulaient que je suive la norme et l’ordre des choses. Ce que par opposition, je me suis empressé de fuir. Mes voyages aux quatre coins du monde m’ont beaucoup influencé dans le choix de mes couleurs et ma curiosité à fait le reste.

 

RankArt : Comment définiriez-vous votre travail artistique ? Que dites-vous de vos œuvres à quelqu’un qui n’a jamais vu une de vos œuvres ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : Je suis un artiste peintre abstrait et je me défini comme coloriste avant tout car mon choix des couleurs est primordial. J’aime contraster les couleurs chaudes et vives avec des tons de bleus plus ou moins foncés. Je n’utilise jamais le noir seul mais seulement pour assombrir une couleur.

 

RankArt : Pourquoi ces choix de sujet, de technique, de style ?

Gilles Crann Piorra : Je peins principalement à l’huile car j’aime peindre dans le gras et de pouvoir retravailler ce médium. L’acrylique sèche trop vite et n’a pas cette texture propre à l’huile. Je n’utilise presque aucun additif autrement que l’huile et l’essence d’aspic. J’aime peindre l’abstrait car il laisse plus de liberté imaginative. Avec l’abstrait on exprime vraiment ce qui vient de l’intérieur, on n’est pas borné à ce que l’on voit, la limite est l’imagination, rien d’autre.

 

RankArt : Qu’est ce qui, de façon générale influence votre peinture (peintre, cinéma, musique, auteur…)?

Gilles Crann Piorra : Je suis très influencé par la musique qui est un élément essentiel de ma création artistique. Je peins avec la musique que j’écoute de façon aléatoire et très fort. Je suis aussi influencé par les autres artistes peintres de Bruegel et Van Eyck aux peintres contemporains qu’ils soient connus ou non.

Télécharger ma bio-pic et mon CV

© Copyright - Artiste: Gilles Crann Piorra.          Crann Piorr'Art ® est une marque déposée 

Site créé avec Wix.com

  • Facebook Social Icône